Home Icon

Loading, Please Wait...

Gray Television’s Stations Awarded for Commitment to Excellence in Local Journalism With 57 Regional Edward R. Murrow Awards in 23 Gray Markets

1158 Days ago

      ATLANTA, April 24, 2019 (GLOBE NEWSWIRE) -- Gray Television, Inc. (“Gray,” “we,” or “our”) (NYSE: GTN) announced today that the Radio Television Digital News Association (RTDNA) awarded a combined 57 regional Edward R. Murrow awards for excellence in journalism to 23 of Gray Television’s stations.  Among these coveted honors are:

1.  four awards for Overall Excellence, the highest honor given, for WVUE in New Orleans (its fifth consecutive win), WAVE in Louisville, WAFB in Baton Rouge, and WJHG in Panama City,

2.  top honors in 10 categories for WVUE in New Orleans, tying for most Murrow’s in large market television category, and

3.  top honors in 8 categories, tying for most Murrow’s in small market television category, for KGMB/KHNL in Honolulu.

      “Our stations are invested in serving their local communities as proven by their coverage,” said Gray Chairman and CEO Hilton H. Howell Jr. “I am proud of our commitment to quality local journalism that is positively impacting the communities we serve.”

     Gray proudly recognizes all of its Regional Edward R. Murrow Winners:

  • WVUE-New Orleans: 10 awards, including Overall Excellence, Investigative, and Breaking News
  • KGMB/KHNL-Honolulu: 8 awards, including Newscast and Investigative
  • WAFB-Baton Rouge: 5 awards, including Overall Excellence and Continuing Coverage
  • KSLA-Shreveport: 4 awards, including Hard News
  • KBTX-Bryan-College Station -3 awards, including Newscast and Breaking News
  • WDBJ-Roanoke-Lynchburg: 3 awards, including Continuing coverage
  • KYTV/KSPR-Springfield: 3 awards, including Breaking News
  • WJRT-Flint/Saginaw/Bay City: 2 awards, including Hard News
  • WBAY-Green Bay-Appleton: 2 awards, including Investigative
  • KFVS-Paducah-Cape Girardeau: 2 awards, including News Documentary
  • KTUU-Anchorage: 2 awards, including Breaking News
  • WWBT-Richmond: Excellence in Social Media
  • WAVE-Louisville: Overall Excellence
  • WMC-Memphis: News Documentary
  • WKYT-Lexington: Excellence in Sound
  • WVLT-Knoxville: News Series
  • WMTV-Madison: Excellence in Writing
  • WOWT-Omaha: Sports Reporting
  • KCRG-Cedar Rapids: Investigative Reporting
  • KWTX-Waco-Temple:  Hard News
  • WCAX-Burlington: News Series
  • WRDW-Augusta: Continuing Coverage
  • WECT-Wilmington: Excellence in Innovation
  • WJHG-Panama City: Overall Excellence         

     RTDNA has been honoring outstanding achievements in electronic journalism with the Edward R. Murrow Awards since 1971. Murrow’s pursuit of excellence in journalism embodies the spirit of the awards that carry his name. Gray’s regional award winners will move on the national round of the annual competition. National awards will be announced in June.

About Gray:

     Gray currently owns and/or operates television stations and leading digital properties in 93 television markets, including the number-one rated television station in 68 markets and the first or second highest rated television station in 87 markets.  Gray’s television stations cover approximately 24 percent of US television households and broadcast approximately 400 separate programming streams, including nearly 150 affiliates of the CBS/NBC/ABC/FOX networks.  Gray also owns video program production, marketing, and digital businesses including Raycom Sports, Tupelo-Raycom, and RTM Studios, the producer of PowerNation programs and content. For further information, please visit  www.gray.tv.

Website: www.gray.tv.

#          #          #

Contact: Sandy Breland, Senior Vice President, 504-352-4019

We Are Diffrent
Is your business listed correctly on America’s largest city directory network of 1,000 portals? Find your City Portal