Home Icon

Loading, Please Wait...

CST: 13/05/2021 23:36:11   

UPS Honors Minnesota Drivers for 25 Years of Safe Driving

807 Days ago

MINNEAPOLIS, Feb. 26, 2019 (GLOBE NEWSWIRE) -- UPS (NYSE:UPS) today announced that 21 elite drivers from Minnesota are among 1,436 newly inducted worldwide into the Circle of Honor, an honorary organization for UPS drivers who have achieved 25 or more years of accident-free driving. 

Minnesota boasts 153 Circle of Honor drivers with a combined 4,421 years of accident-free driving. Raymond Welk of Nowthen is the state’s senior-most safe driver, with 48 years of accident-free driving under his belt. There are 1,856 total full-time UPS drivers in Minnesota.

“My thanks go to all of them for their dedication and focus and for the countless lives they’ve saved,” said Stephanie Dexter, president, UPS Northern Plains District. “Their attention to detail has kept them safe and has helped improve public safety.”

Globally, the most seasoned UPS Circle of Honor driver is Thomas Camp of Livonia, Mich., with 56 years of driving without an accident. Ronald McKnight of Bronx, N.Y., is next in line with 50 years of safe driving. One hundred twenty six others have logged at least 40 years without an accident.

UPS’s 125,000 small package drivers worldwide are among the safest on the roads, logging close to 4 billion miles a year and delivering 5.2 billion packages annually. 

Collectively, these drivers have achieved more than 298,957 years of safe driving throughout their careers. That’s enough time behind the wheel to drive non-stop from Miami to San Diego – 68 million times. And they’ve done it while helping to deliver 3 percent of the world’s GDP – 20 million packages a day.

Founded in 1907, UPS has a rich history of safety and training. The company issued its first driver handbook in 1917 and began recognizing safe drivers in 1923.  In 1928, UPS recognized its first five-year safe driver, Ray McCue, with UPS founder Jim Casey presenting him a gold and platinum watch. UPS formally established its safe driving honor program in 1928.

** NOTE: The following page lists local drivers by hometown and UPS center.  If you’re interested in interviewing a local driver, please contact UPS Public Relations at pr@ups.com. Visit pressroom.ups.com for multimedia assets.

Following is a list of Minnesota drivers inducted this year to the Circle of Honor.

Driver Hometown UPS Work Location
Bickford, Steven Motley Brainerd
Bokman, Michael Faribault St. Paul
Carlson, Chris St. Paul Minneapolis
Castor, Jeffrey Dilworth Fargo, ND
Daniel, Peter Eagan St. Paul
Dickhaus, Kurt Wadena Wadena
Donohue, James St. Paul St. Paul
Fellerer, Robert Oakdale Minneapolis
Holmvik, Paul Apple Valley St. Paul
Jewell, Keith Bemidji Bemidji
Johnston, Dean Rochester Rochester
Kanz, Chad Pine Island Rochester
Keppers, Timothy Duluth St. Paul
Kretlow, Scott Maplewood St. Paul
Moseng, Dean Circle Pines Maple Grove
Novacek, Michael Apple Valley St. Paul
Pearcy Jr., James Moorhead Fargo, ND
Ross, Michael Cedar Minneapolis
Samuelson, Steven St. Paul St. Paul
Thompson, Thomas St. Paul Park Minneapolis
Voss, Loring Woodbury St. Paul

Contact:            UPS Public Relations

We Are Diffrent
Is your business listed correctly on America’s largest city directory network of 1,000 portals?